The nonpartisan, nonprofit group that has conducted debates for the past nine presidential elections is plowing ahead with four events next year, despite Republicans’ promises to boycott.

The Commission on Presidential Debates on Monday announced the dates and venues for three presidential debates and one debate between the candidates’ running mates, beginning on Sept. 16 and ending on Oct. 9. The presidential debates will take place in San Marcos, Texas; Petersburg, Virginia; and Salt Lake City, Utah; with the vice presidential debate in Easton, Pennsylvania.

Aggrieved by what they call political bias, former President Donald Trump and the GOP have promised to sit out any debate conducted by the commission. The Republican National Committee voted last year to boycott the commission’s debates, saying they would instead find “other avenues for candidates to have a free and fair forum for all Americans.”

Read the full article here


Leave A Reply